Where to Eat??

The last few weeks have been fairly gluten-free. I have felt pretty good and seem to mostly eat products with gluten over the weekend. I think it is partly that my weekends are less structured. It is easy to pack a lunch and plan dinner as part of my weekly routine. But weekends tend to be more laid back, groceries are slim by the end of the week and my husband and I usually eat out more on weekends.

That brings me to my question: Where do celiac eat when looking for a quick fast-casual meal? My husband and I prefer the deli style restaurants to a traditional chain fast food restaurant, but it is hard. We grab Asian food (I know soy sauce can contain gluten). I am a bit of a salad snob, so I don’t enjoy the iceberg lettuce salads you usually receive at these types of restaurants and from what I can tell are my only option.

Most sandwich shops are a no-no if I’m trying to be good. I did find gluten-free pizza at Guido’s in Okemos. It was fairly good, it is definitely made with rice flour and has the gummy consistency that I associate with it. I’m still adjusting to the taste difference in gluten-free bread products. But there has to be more alternatives? What am I missing? Does anyone have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

